AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube at Greater New Orleans Militaria Show

JohnS3rd

Here are some pictures of the OR Hessian Pickelhaube forum member Jeff Shrader, Advance Guard Militaria, for sale at last weekend's show.
OR Hessian Pickelhaube F.jpeg
AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube LS.jpeg
AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube B.jpeg
AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube RS.jpegAGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube IS.jpegAGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube Rear Visor.jpeg
AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube Wappen.jpeg

I am not an expert in any way, but this seems like a great pickelhaube; I wish the current situation allowed because I might have purchased it.

Here is a link to his website. https://www.advanceguardmilitaria.com/

As always, best regards,
John

Attachments

• AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube Front.jpeg
    AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube Front.jpeg
    579.9 KB · Views: 7
  • AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube RV LS.jpeg
    AGM OR Hessian Pickelhaube RV LS.jpeg
    438.3 KB · Views: 7
I would not say it is a great helmet, but it is okay. 1891 model. No clear markings. Chinscales look too long and miss the buckle. The lion plate is nice.

I would not say it is a great helmet, but it is okay. 1891 model. No clear markings. Chinscales look too long and miss the buckle. The lion plate is nice.
Hello Bruno,
Thank you for your learned analysis of this pickelhaube. You mentioned that the chinscales were too long; is there a rule of thumb to go buy to determine if they are too long or short? Is it based upon the chinscales riding too high or low? Thanks in advance for any insight you or others can provide to FNG's such as myself to pickelhaube collecting.
Best regards,
John

I saw the helmet at MAX as well, and I have to say I was also tempted to buy it.

Perhaps I'll see it tomorrow as I expect Jeff and Anna to be at the OVMS show in Wilmington, Ohio.