Battlefield 1918 Computer Game

Peter_Suciu

Sorry, if I got anyone too excited... there is no official WWI game (yet), but it does look like the game Battlefield 2 will be getting a "mod" (user created make over basically) called Battlefield 1918.

http://www.bf1918.com/

As a note, I'm a journalist and part of my "beat" is video games. As I'm a history buff I'm always on the look out for the best military simulations. There are some fantastic WWII games but sadly few WWI games. However, this downloadable add-on for Battlefield 2 is coming along.

Games like Battlefield 2 come with code that allows fans to modify the game (hence mods). The BF1918 looks pretty good, and includes German, British, French, America and Turkish forces so far!

Hi Pete

I agree.. I have been an avid wargamer for 30 plus years, both boardgames & videogames. Can't wait to have a good 1914-18 game. The subject has been alomost totally overlooked by the gaming community

Pete

There was a decent real-time strategy game called The Great War: 1914-1918. But it took too long to play and it was far too challenging.

You could build infantry cheaply, but tanks were expensive and my battleship cost a fortune. Basically I built up an army, attacked the enemy and my forces were destroyed. Then I'd build up and again and face an attack. This continued for a long time. Finally I gave up. Felt far too much like the war!

And the same company did a game about the Napoleonic Wars called Cossacks II. A lot of game reviews gave it negative reviews for being confusing. The developers actually tried to get the uniforms close, so the British had infantry in red uniforms, riflemen in black, some cavalry in blue. Looked beautiful. Absolutely beautiful, but trying to find your men on the map was a nightmare!

Have never been a big fan of real time (RTS) games.. much prefer turn based. Hopefully, there should be something good out soon.