Bavarian Pionier Georg Müller a German Soldier in the Great War

JohnS3rd

Georg Müller Hattersdorf F&B.jpg

In November 2019, I picked up a small group of items that included real period cards or RPC at the semiannual Tennessee Military Collectors show. One of which was a picture of a German soldier wearing the 1914 Iron Cross Second Class. I found this card interesting because someone printed a soldier’s name and town printed on the back. In addition, an original 1914 IC 2nd CL was part of the grouping.

During the pandemic, I researched the name Georg Müller on Ancestry.com. As many who have done similar research can imagine, such a search can be a bit daunting. However, there are as many Georg Müllers’ in Germany as there are Gorge Millers’ here in the U.S. Through trial and error, I found Georg Müller Hattersdorf, Staffelstein Bayern (Bavaria), Germany. Born on 14 January 1894, he was by trade a Zimmerman or carpenter and was single. He was a Pioneer assigned to the 2. Bayer. Pionier-Ersatz-Bataillon, its headquarters was at Speyer, Germany.

Muster Rools Muller 1.jpg
Muster Rools Muller 1b.jpg

Previously, I scanned the picture and now took a closer look at Georg Müller’s uniform and noted that he is wearing both a Bavarian OR Belt Buckle and a “2” on his epaulet.
Muller Uniform Details.jpg

Name: Georg MÜLLER

Birth Date: 14 Jan 1894

Birthplace: Hattersdorf, Staffelstein Bayern (Bavaria)

Combat Arm: Pioniere

Type of Unit: Pionier-Formationen: Pionier-Ersatz-Bataillone

Unit: 2. Bayer. Pionier-Ersatz-Bataillon (Speyer)

Name: Georg Müller II

Birth Date: 14 Jan 1894

Birthplace: Hattersdorf Bezirksamt Staffelstein Bayern (Bavaria)

Combat Arm: Pioniere

Type of Unit: Pionier-Formationen: Pionier-Kompanien

Unit: Bayer. Pionier-Kompanie 07