Camouflaged M17

chinstrap

I've always fancied a camouflaged stahlhelm, but they were either too costly, or problematic. I saw this one, which really appealed to me, and I was able to get it at a price I was very happy with. I believe it's the real thing, but I can live with it if it's not. Views, please.

Marked Si66. Chinstrap leather is stiff and brittle and the strap is distorted from being looped inside the shell. I know there are recommendations somewhere on the forum on what to use/not use to treat the leather, which I will check. Is there a name for this type of pattern-I believe there were seasonal variations?

The camo works really well-my wife hasn't spotted it yet!

Seems I can't post more than 5 photos? Sorry about the shininess-struggled with getting decent light on it.

20190402_094044.jpg
20190402_094124.jpg
20190402_094151.jpg
20190402_094210.jpg
20190402_094400.jpg

Patrick

I am no expert on these although I have 2 (camoed) in my collection, it looks good to me. Yours has much better and brighter colours than mine. Congrats!

Hi Patrick, I cannot say that I am an expert as I am still learning. I have a fair number of camo helmets. The camo paint must have the brush strokes and to be in the correct colours as stipulated in the directive issued by Chief of the General Staff of the Field Army, Erich Ludendorff in July 1918. Of cos, there are exceptional paintwork such as splotches of paint instead of the standard geometrical pattern. I cannot see the colour of your pic well, so I have decided to attached some samples of mine. Hope that helps.

Attachments

• 20190403_090523_resized.jpg
    20190403_090523_resized.jpg
    146.2 KB · Views: 4,472
  • 20190403_090526_resized.jpg
    20190403_090526_resized.jpg
    120.5 KB · Views: 4,472
  • 20190403_090534_resized.jpg
    20190403_090534_resized.jpg
    160.6 KB · Views: 4,472
  • 20190403_090538_resized.jpg
    20190403_090538_resized.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 4,472