Hessian EM on eBay

Peter_Suciu

Any opinions on this one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/WW1-HESSIAN-EM-Spike-Helmet_W0QQitemZ6560819504QQcategoryZ13965QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Peter-

looks like a good one, and in nice shape as well, appears to be original Hessian Kokorden which is a plus!

Nice Original Spike!

James

Hi Peter,

Welcome to the forum, we haven't corresponded before.

I am still pretty new at this game so I will defer to others more knowledgeable than myself, but a few things that stand out:

1) Looking at the helmet, overall, I get the impression of normal wear and a very careful cleaning up. Someone has done a not bad job of restoring this piece. That said, the cockades look correct, but brand spanking new compared with the rest of the helmet. Not a huge sin, just another anomaly.

2) Whereas all of the other hardware is feldgrau, the spike looks like tarnished german silver. I think it is the correct type of spike, but it doesn't match the rest of the hardware - a small anomaly.

3) The re-filled badge holes is a turn-off for me, but let's hear what some of the more experienced members of the community have to say.

4) Missing its liner string. That is a mortal sin! I'd write this one off on that point alone! Just kidding.

In sum, a good basic helmet that has been reconditioned with maybe a few new parts, not a complete original as the seller suggests. The one real negative (in my mind) is the refilled holes for the badge.

As to pricing, I will be interested in what the rest of the world has to say on this point, but to me, $600 to $700 would be about right, this seller is expecting too much if it hasn't reached reserve yet.

Good luck with your collecting.

Cheers,

Laurie

I'm not more experienced. I just have opinions. I didn't even stay in a Holiday Inn express last night. I do not like this helmet, Peter. I think the seller is being as honest as he can be but the real question is -- is this the kind of helmet, we want?