Landsturm Uberzug and long shovel

joerookery

This morning we have a "transitional" (?????) Lansturman.
XII1uberzug.jpg

XII1uberzug_1.jpg

Ok so the guy is from Landsturm Bn XII 1 Dresden. His collar dogs say XII. They are SUPPOSED to have a 1 there too. These corps numbers became collar parts in April 1915. The Bn was mobilized on 26/8/1914.

The Uberzug has the 1 applied in what looks like an afterthought. Also a Lansturm Infantry unit with a long handled shovel. After Tony did that great laydown on shakos -- a little more uberzug oddness.

Joe

Another cool pc! That poor guy looked like he was draggin' ass. This brings me to a question: I have always been of the opinion (keep in mind I am no photograghy expert) that when looking at b/w pics of the uberzeugs, that if the numbers/letters appear dark they were probably red, and if they appeared lighter they were probably green.

How does everybody feel about that? Am I on the wrong track? We know that Red was pre-war, and that green was early-war, what years this occured I am unclear.

What color do you feel the numbers are on this Landsturmer? Common sense would say green.

As for the collar devices, was it just Landsturm who wore these, or did the Landwehr also?

Geo

George
(keep in mind I am no photograghy expert)
Me neither. I THINK you are right but somewhere in some thread colors are explained. Worth doing some work on this......

The red numbers were replaced by dark green cloth on 15 August 1914. So very, very quickly. In some cases. There are green dyes and green ink, as well as green cloth. There is supposed to exist a regimental order from the 91st reserve infantry Regiment. From December 1914, that puts the green numbers on the back of a helmet cover.
On October 27, 1916 all numbers are removed with the exception of the cross for Landsturm.

The roman numerals with an arabic number following is clear Landsturm. Just the brigade number I believe is again Landsturm only.