Mint, unworn Pickelhauben with Talcum Powder

Mike H

Gentlemen,

I have seen a few examples of Pickelhauben in friends' collections that are mint and unworn and are covered with what appears to be a talcum powder coating. I was told they came from the manufacturer like this.

What is the story with the powder? What was its purpose? An example shown below.

Mike

061011-76.jpg

I have never heard that story before and I have been collecting hauben since the 1980’s. There are private purchase Officer helmets where the shell is made of lacquered felt and the visors stitched on. Any talc powder in my opinion might be some sort of chemical reaction after 100 years. At the same time, we all know here that this area of collecting is full of surprises.

b.loree said:
I have never heard that story before and I have been collecting hauben since the 1980’s. There are private purchase Officer helmets where the shell is made of lacquered felt and the visors stitched on. Any talc powder in my opinion might be some sort of chemical reaction after 100 years. At the same time, we all know here that this area of collecting is full of surprises.

Brian,
You can indeed encounter, albeit rarely, as-new Pickelhauben with this white powdery coating. For instance, Kai Winkler had for sale an absolutely mint, unworn Bavarian Fahnrich helmet with the same appearance, which he described as "Talkumschicht" (talc coating). Helmut Weitze had a new-looking Reuss Einjahrige Freiwilliger helmet with, apparently, remnants of the same stuff. Talc has multiple uses, as you know, notably as a water-repellent protection and lubricant on various surfaces, rubber, garments... All helmets I saw with this appearance where as new, and never of the enlisted type. Presumably, talc was used as a protectant on helmets to be kept in storage... although I have no direct proof from the period that it was the case!