Prussiam EM

greg warren

I am new to these helmets, have collected nazi for 20 years, did i get ripped? please check completed ebay auction 6558426349 that went off yesterday, where can i get repro chin strap and cockcades?

Hi Greg,
Welcome to the forum, I think this helmet is a nice authentic Haube, and it has the added feature of being a rare large size. Most helmets were made for children, not as toys, but to wear in combat. If anyone tells you that you paid too much for it, you need respond that you did not pay too much, you just bought it too early (I think this is high for an M15, but I got mine for $19.50 so don't pay any attention to me). You should not have any trouble selling it for the same or more, so to answer your first question, "no" you did not get ripped. I have not searched for Kockarden or chin straps recently, but they are out there, and hopefully another member will be able to answer that question.
Best wihses
Gus

thank you very much for the info, any more comments, i would appreiate it, what do you mean by i bought it too early?

Hi Greg,
To say that you bought it too early is a way to say that you did not pay too much. I think the price was resonable, but if any one tells you you paid too much, you need only wait a few months, and the going price will be much higher. If I am honest, I would have run you up a bit if I did not already have a nice M15 Haube. The large sized Hauben will always comand a good price as long as there are re-enactors. They are buying reproductions for about what you paid (sometimes more) so they can get a helmet that is a wearable size. This Haube appeals to me as a collector of OR equipment, it shows honest wear, it is in above average condition and the lack of chin strap and Kockarden is normal, as the chin straps were removed during the war to put on the Stahlhelm, with out the chin straps, the Kockarden were lost.
Best wishes
Gus