Prussian 10th Hanoverian Jäger Enlisted man Tschako - Model 1915

FRONTENAC

Hi,

I would like to have your opinion/comments regarding this Jäger Regt. 10 Tschako mainly about the markings. I am suspicious about this item. I think this Tschako is a montage (for example: the front visor of the Tschako does not have the same wear as the rest).

https://www.ebay.de/itm/266534677136?_trkparms=amclksrc=ITM&aid=777008&algo=PERSONAL.TOPIC&ao=1&asc=20230811123857&meid=a80d2f074c0746b080a1b7918582db93&pid=101770&rk=1&rkt=1&itm=266534677136&pmt=0&noa=1&pg=4375194&algv=RecentlyViewedItemsV2&_trksid=p4375194.c101770.m146925&_trkparms=parentrq:0dad9a3618c0a373a9d1fe06ffffd702|pageci:60f22464-8ca8-11ee-834d-56e79fb5b80a|iid:1|vlpname:vlp_homepage

Last edited:
Hi,
The shell might be ok, but the Wappen looks fake to me (mind you, I'm no expert).
The very short distance between the holes for the Wappen looks strange, never seen that before.
Regards,
Lars

Hi,
The shell might be ok, but the Wappen looks fake to me (mind you, I'm no expert).
The very short distance between the holes for the Wappen looks strange, never seen that before.
Regards,
Lars
Hi Lars,

Godd observation regarding the Wappen.

Richard

I agree with Amy.
The loops on back have been relocated to a small spread like a Saxon plate.
But to me the plate looks good.
Just not on this helmet.

I was thinking the same thing. I'm inclined to think the Wappen is OK although the finish on the obverse looks to have been enhanced somehow perhaps by having a wash applied to it.

Looking at the grommets on the shell it seems obvious that the original Prussian Wappen loops have been poorly re-soldered to fit the shell. As mentioned above the grommet spacing indicates Saxon or Bavarian.

This offering by this seller is unusual as he normally deals in very good quality pieces.