BRITISH DRAGOON HELMET COLLECTION #7

Peter,

Your artillery sword is fabulous! It appears to be near mint condition... the etched blade is so clean and well defined. Approximately what was the period this particular pattern was in use? I think it is a wonderful find!!

I was an aviation Major and pilot in the United States Army flying attack helicopters...

Cheers,

David
The real experts can probably answer that but I believe generally around WWI.

I retired as a Lieutenant-Colonel and was both Field and Air Defence Artillery. Did some jumping out of airplanes as well.

Here is a much me in Fort Bragg getting my US Jump Wings.

Attachments

• DSC00016.jpeg
    DSC00016.jpeg
    232.3 KB · Views: 13
  • DSC00023.jpeg
    DSC00023.jpeg
    264.3 KB · Views: 13
The real experts can probably answer that but I believe generally around WWI.

I retired as a Lieutenant-Colonel and was both Field and Air Defence Artillery. Did some jumping out of airplanes as well.

Here is a much me in Fort Bragg getting my US Jump Wings.
Peter... The sword is really terrific and like he way you have it displayed... it's lovely...

I think we are probably of the same age... we were all such babies then...

David

David 25.jpg 10663316I.jpg
Getting ready to go fly... Hanau, Germany Command performance Fi Rucker

David 12.jpg
Working hard at Headquarters V Corps Frankfurt FRG

Thanks David.

I think you are right about the artistic license taken by the artist. He was definitely 5th DG. I have copies of his "two" service records. A family story was confirmed when I got them. He ran away from home as a teenager and lied about his age and was found out and released. It has it right in the record. Then his parents gave in or he came of age and joined again in the 5th DG.. From the service record I was able to determine all the bars on his QSA medal as I only have his KSA. I was able to get a duplicate made then with the correct bars.

Cheers.

Peter