French shakos pre-1860, info needed

historypioneer

Hi there,
I am new to this forum :)
I'd like to have some info about French shakos before 1860, especially what soldiers and officers wore in the 1859 campaign. Guess normal infantry line was equipped with the kepì om campaign as you can see in the pic I attach, but what about officers?

hope someone can help, :lol:

1237847580.jpg

Hi History Pioneer

Larmo here, I am by no means an expert in these matters but I am armed with the wonderful book, Les Coiffures de L'Armee Francaise by Margerand. The subject matter the book deals with is French Army headress from 1791 to about 1900. During the reign of Louis Napoleon there were numerous models of shakos prior to 1860 , with the immediate preceding pattern being the model 1858. Basically it was a wool covered stiff paper body with a leather visor and metal chinstrap, a large brass eagle plate bearing the regimental number adorned the front. The enlisted shakos were covered in blue wool facing cloth with a red wool band at the top and the officers in black shaved fur with a gold brocade band instead of red wool at the top, the officers eagles would have had a gilded finish. Modifications continued after the 1860 model ( the only all leather shako I believe) in 1868, and 1874 until discarded entirely for the much more comfortable and less expensive Kepi in the 1880's.

I do not have an example of the 1858 army officers shako in my own collection but do have an enlisted and officer pattern Garde Nationale shakos which are similar in design.

The image below depicts a senior officer with his pre 1860 model shako

hpqscan0001c.jpg

The second image shows a decorated officer with his 1860 model shako

hpqscan0003g.jpg

Another excellent reference is La Garde Imperiale de Napoleon III by Delperier, simply a beautiful book with color photography. Its a bit on the spendy side, around $200 US I believe.