High quality picklehaube manufacturers

wadair95

I am interested in the Duchy of Parma and the picklehaubes worn by the troops of that state. I am new to picklehaubes in general but is there a manufacturer who produces custom high quality replicas? I believe they used the duchy used the 1842 variant. Thanks for the help!

Attachments

• 53257a9e09307e897165ef9a6ebdf6bc.jpg
    53257a9e09307e897165ef9a6ebdf6bc.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 13
Welcome to the Forum. But unfortunately I don’t know a replica manufacturer who offers these old Helmets.

Thomislaw at Spikehelmets in Mosina, Poland knows craftspeople who can produce a good M1842 facsimile. I have an original brass Parma plate, extraordinary design work of Bourbon coat of arms. Parma was threatened by both French and Austrian ambitions during the 1840's and sought to ally themselves with Prussia but their duke was assasinated and later Parma was absorbed although I think the title is active. They had a remarkable GduC helmet with a silver star and scarlet plume as well.

I recommend a beautifully produced book. Lots of photos including original daguerotype images of troops in their M1842s, many different helmets, and plenty of color plates.

These are daguerreotype images of a Parma Infantryman and Mounted Artillery. They are fitted out in entirely 1842 Prussian style. The helmets are misinterpreted in some older prints and appear more British. Existing pickelhaubes indicate that they are M1842's manufactured in Germany as they are indistinguishable from Prussian ones.

Attachments

• Parma Daguer.jpg
    Parma Daguer.jpg
    222.8 KB · Views: 18