My second Haube! Your expert opinion please...

aterrasse

Dear All,

I am new in the world of pickelhaubes but keen to learn fast.

This is my second haube, a Saxon M15 for your kind review. The helmet has a very good shape and a nice solid liner. The original nonserrated kokarden are also present. The helmet has its original chinstrap. The dome is dated 1916 but there is no unit marking.

I am very happy with this new piece but I would still love to have your comments.

Very best to you All

Alex

IMG_1345.jpg

IMG_1361.jpg

IMG_1350.jpg

Here is a close up of the Sachen kokarde

IMG_1357.jpg

Alex,

Excellent choice! Nice original and complete Saxon M15s are hard to come by and yours looks complete and in great shape.

My suggestion: Look very closely for the unit and manufacturers marks. Don't be satisfied wtih your initial impression that there are no markings. Some techniques to try:
- Flash hi-res photos of the rear visor, sometimes shows up a marking that you couldn't see with the naked eye.
- Get yourself a UV light from a local electronics store, it will also bring out some markings, particularly painted marks.
- Natural sunlight - try taking your helmet outside briefly and looking at the rear visor
I have had great success in finding unit markings and owners names on uniforms and helmets using these techniques. Often the previous owners have not even seen the markings. If you happened to find a 'JR 100' or similar it will boost its value substantially.

Mike

flasheart said:
Alex,

Excellent choice! Nice original and complete Saxon M15s are hard to come by and yours looks complete and in great shape.

My suggestion: Look very closely for the unit and manufacturers marks. Don't be satisfied wtih your initial impression that there are no markings. Some techniques to try:
- Flash hi-res photos of the rear visor, sometimes shows up a marking that you couldn't see with the naked eye.