Not old or military, but...

poniatowski

While in Berlin a few weeks ago, my wife and I walked through a flea market (Floh Markt) and I found this Berlin Politzei shako. It wasn't expensive, a bit dirty and after a few minutes work, it looked like this.

100_5537.jpg

100_5538.jpg

It has a fiber shell, no name in it anywhere, size 57. I'm sure you've all seen this kind of helmet before. All in all a nice souvenir of the city, in my opinion.

Does anybody know how to figure the date on these helmets?

:D Ron

Nice find, and you were lucky enough to go to Berlin and buy it :cheers:

This may be a WWII one that was reissued for postwar use, are there any traces of green paint around the ventilator rims? Sure looks like a Third Reich era makers logo inside. I am not an expert of these but I have seen several examples of WWII reissued ones, sometimes simply by painting over the green wool covers with black paint and installing a new wappen in place of the WWII one.

Larry

Berlin Police helmets were all black in WW2 and if a TR police eagle fits on this helmet it would be WW2. The chinstrap might be a later replacement.
:D :D
Jerrry

Hi All,

I think this one was always black without any green felt. The maker mark reads "Friedrich Becker & Co.K.G. Berlin SW68" in what is best described as dunkel gelb, with 'Original "VUPA" ' in red. There is also a red dot above the marking, which looks like it was applied with a finger tip. The liner is marked '57' on one of the rear tabs.

I've never taken the front plate off, because the nuts holding it on are very tight and I don't see any evidence that there were other plates on it. The chinstrap posts are brass, rather than the silver I'd expected (some of which had those little squared loops on them)...