Prussian pickelhaube - officer or not ?

Frozzer

Hi

I got this nice attic find pickelhaube. It came with Uberzug, small moth cocoons on it, still dirt - all photos before cleaning.
I am new to pickelhaubes and Im wonder - this is an officer variant or not ?
Spike is high with pearls around, all brass items has gold wash, but interrior looks like to be EM helmet, with regiments markings.

please help.

Regards
Michal

I can see why you're confused. The helmet all seems to go together well, but it's not an officer helmet. It's possible that a soldier had this issued to him and upgraded it as he was promoted from the ranks to NCO, at which time he purchased the better spike, chinscales and cockades. The eagle is an enlisted type as is the helmet shell. The uberzug looks unused and may not be original to the helmet. On the other hand, it might be a parts helmet, in spite of the fact that it seems to fit together perfectly. If somebody put it together in the 1960's, it would look evenly aged today... so it's very difficult to say with this one.

I'm sure folks who know more than I will comment. Did you look up the regimental marks to be sure the plate is correct? I'll leave that up to you.

:D Ron

Thanks for reply

Shell has high glossy finish, all brass emblems gas gold finish too. First look is like to be an officers, but as You wrote - maybe this is an NCO variant modified from EM helmet.
About cover - it fits perfectly and cames from this helmet. Neck visor from helmet is deformed - the same deformation is in leader sewn into neck pocket of helmet cover.

Someone could read unit of this pickelhaube ?

This is an issued helmet. When you see the stamps and the markings on the rear visor you know that it was stored and issued by the unit. An officer would buy a private purchase item. It is possible – possible that this was purchased by a one-year volunteer from the unit and then upgraded but that is a stretch. I would vote for parts helmet. Sorry – only an opinion.