Un cut wappen?

Louis

I was at a local market and found this being sold by a stamp and die collecter. Looks like an uncut grenadier wappen with an S hilt unless I misunderstood and it means garde? Also it has no bandau so maybe a reserve? If any one knows something about this I would really appreciate it!10D0F4AE-5C9C-45C2-B1E8-DDDADE32274E.jpeg
A8CCC0CF-02F7-48B0-8774-2101CA3F8A7C.jpeg

I used to work in a tool and die shop....I love seeing things like this! I would like to see an actual steel die one day of a wappen...

So this is how a wappen is initially stamped. Do you know what the next step is? Does it get trimmed followed by bending and adding post or loops? It is amazing when one thinks of the work involved to produce a single wappen 100 to 150 year’s ago. Thank for posting.
John

I have no knowledge of metal work but I always imagined that it would be a clean cut stamping with one strike and no trimming. However, let’s hear from our more experienced knowledgeable members.

I don’t know if you can see it in the pictures but it has been scored and bent a bit around the eagle almost like it would have been rough cut before the Final Cut. Does anyone know what kind of regiment it would have belonged to because it does not have a bandeau on it

I don’t know if you can see it in the pictures but it has been scored and bent a bit around the eagle almost like it would have been rough cut before the Final Cut. Does anyone know what kind of regiment it would have belonged to because it does not have a bandeau on it
Because of the sword handle I would say it is the „Grenadier“ eagle.