Uniform Group of Victorian RA Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel George Hampson Morrison

Jvpi

Dear members,

I would like to show you my Victorian British uniform collection in this post. Although British militaria is not my focus, but what is shown here is the most complete group of items belonging to the same person in my collection. And preserved in very nice condition too. Since I'm no expert in British Militaria, there might be some mistakes in the introduction. Corrections and more information are welcome!
The uniform group belonged to George Hampson Morrison, all items came in with the original named case. Morrison was appointed Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel of the Royal Artillery in 1887 after he retired as Major from the 5th Lancashire Rifle Volunteer Corps. From various references, it's known that Morrison became Ensign in the 5th Lancashire Rifle Volunteer Corps on 3rd November 1860, senior unit of the later Liverpool Volunteer Rifle Brigade, where Morrison was promoted to Lieutenant on 18th May 1865. On 31st March 1870 Morrison obtained a Majority in the 5th Lancashire Rifle Volunteer Corps. On 8th January 1887 Morrison was appointed as captain in the 5th Brigade, RA Scottish Division (probably a captain's position in the regular army?). The 5th Brigade became the Forfar & Kincardine Artillery (Southern Division) in 1889. From very few references I read, I could not figure out why he got an honorary title in the Artillery Militia. I'm grateful if someone could tell me more about it. The RA Scottish Division was disbanded in 1889, not long after Morrison's uniforms were made. George Hampson Morrison died in 1901(?), his birth date is unknown.
The group includes his full dress helmet, full dress uniform & trousers, patrol jacket & trousers, full dress pouch, numerous belts, stable jacket, mess waistcoat, cloak & cape and dress gloves.

C00E02DB-BCDA-4E7C-81FD-50BE08725657 2.jpg
488.jpeg

Last edited: