Prussian Weissenburger EM pickelhaube

giorgio

Hi to everyone,
few weeks ago I had the opportunity to handle a pickelaube a little bit more different from those I saw till now.
You know I'm a beginner in this field but I was really intrigued.
I started making some researches on line (first of all in this forum)., books and specialized magazines..and I think I've started to learn a little bit more about
At the end I decided to enter it the collection even if, for my level of knowledge, it was already on higher grades, maybe not due to its extreme particularity, but not to go too far from my initial collection stages.
W're talking about the metal pickelhaube, what the advaced collector call “kit-pickelhaube”.
I've read that, correct me if I'm wrong, towards the end of 1914 the factory Hermann Weissenburger of Stuttgart receive an order of metal pickelaube for the prussian army (while the Farm Gebrüder Bing AG will equip the Bavarian Army)
I've read as well tha somone refer at them as “ersatz” but it seems that due to the huge number of helmets ordered we can't refer to them like that.
The features of these helmet are several. And I've learned from this forum and others sources, to look for some peculiarities that these hemets must have such as the particular size and form of the rosettes and to the fact that the chinstraps shoud have rivets and not be sewn, the “false” rivets at the base of the spike, the particular method of assembling, the particular way in which the plate is fixed etc etc....
In this example just the “Reich” rosette has the requested feature and the chistrap is sewn without rivets.
One thing that I think it should be a little bit more rare is the fact that, inside, is still present the felt cap
Ok, I leave the word to the pics, and of course feel free to add any kind of opinions, criticisms, observations and corrections....
All my best from Turin
Giorgio

Attachments

• 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    88.3 KB · Views: 32
  • 002.jpg
    002.jpg