NCO or Officer?

827_Katie

IMG_7642.jpegHello! I hope everyone is well! I am fairly new to collecting Pickelhauben, and I just acquired a new piece. I am only now starting to research further into different types of Pickelhauben, different ranks and so on, so my knowledge is quite limited. I had someone tell me this is an NCO Pickelhaube, but I don’t everything that makes an officer differ from NCO’s Pickelhaube. I would just like some insight if that is ok! Thank you :)

Katie

Hello Katie

That would be good to also see the interior of the helmet and the side Kokarde, but from that picture, it has all the features of a Prussian Infantry officer in a nice worn condition. (y)

Hi Katie

Welcome to the forum. Yes the star retainers securing the spike base, the spike, the egg tart round the spike base, the rosettes securing the chin scales, the front plate which we also called it a wappen, the narrow front visor trim all points to an officer helmet. We will need pics of the two sides, the back that has the rear spine and the interior of the helmet which has the sweat band and the canvas.

You have done well on your first pickelhaube.

Hi Katie,
Welcome here. I agree with Amy and Meme32 on this haube, it has indeed all the features of an Infantry officer, Prussia.
Please share, like others stated, some more pictures of it here, so we can tell exactly. But it seems to me, you had a great purchase there!
And volume one book from Bowman is also good reference, all be it a bit dated, but a good reference for starting collectors.

Regards, Coert.

Hello Katie

That would be good to also see the interior of the helmet and the side Kokarde, but from that picture, it has all the features of a Prussian Infantry officer in a nice worn condition. (y)